A group of Liberty County retired teachers met on January 23, 1989, at 6:30 PM,  at the Golden Corral in Liberty for the purpose of organizing the Liberty Country Retired Teachers Association. Ruth Walton, who had called the teachers together, introduced Dr. Dean O. Gray of the University of Houston and Mrs. Myrtle Richardson, President of District V, Texas Retired Teachers Association. This unit was organized, and officers were elected.

South Liberty County Association of School Personnel draws membership from retirees of Liberty, Dayton, Hull-Daisetta, Devers and Hardin school districts. Retirees from other school districts who live in or near South Liberty County are welcome. South Liberty County Association of School Personnel meets the second Thursday of each month from September through May. Members are involved in a variety of volunteer activities in our communities. Members also participate in the very successful Children’s Book Project of TRTA each year.