From Ken Hansen, Huajilla Unit Legislative Chair

House District #53 will have a Republican Representative; no Democrats have filed for the position.  House Dist. #53 takes in most of those in the Huajilla Unit and several other local units of TRTA.

Harvey Hilderbran, Kerrville, who represented us in the last session of the state legislature, has chosen not to run for re-election; he is running for State Comptroller.  There are five candidates, all Republicans, who have filed to run for that seat.  These are the candidates, listed in alphabetical order

Andrew Murr lives in Junction

Karen Harris lives in Pipe Creek

Rob Henneke lives in Kerrville

Tink Nathan lives in Center Point

Wayne Ramsay lives in Bandera

Texas retired teachers need to know each candidate stand on the Defined Benefits Plan vs the Defined Contribution proposal as well as the TRS-Care health plan.  Ken Hansen sent out a short questionnaire on January 30, 2014 via regular mail, set a deadline for returning that questionnaire by the 10th day of February, and included a stamped envelope with the questionnaire in the envelope so they could easily return it. The responses came via e-mail, regular mail and over the phone. An outline of the candidates' responses will follow.

The candidates were asked to respond to the following three questions:

1. Do you support a Defined Benefit Plan for all current and future TRS retirees?

2. Do you support providing reasonable affordable healthcare for TRS retirees?

3. What will you do as my legislator to ensure that the TRS pension fund and TRS-Care health insurance programs are preserved?