Message from the President of BCRSP

          Bee County Retired School Personnel is our local unit for the Texas Retired Teachers Association, the only association in Texas that works exclusively to protect and improve retirement benefits for Texas Teacher Retirement System annuitants. I urge all school retirees and active teachers to join us in building our local and state membership. Each person's help is needed especially now when our health care benefits are in jeopardy and individuals and organizations are trying to sabotage our defined benefit retirement plan. Please join us-numbers count!
Betty Thornton 
BCRSP President


Installation of Officers for 2016-2018

     During the BCRSP barbecue in May, Allen Yank of the Goliad Retired Teachers installed officers for the new year.  Officers installed were:  President Betty Thornton, Vice President Carol Strickland, Second Vice President Patricia Fulghum, Secretary Linda McKay, Treasurer Becky Williams and Parliamentarian Kay Past. This organization is the only link offered to school retirees to approach the state legislature concerning issues for retirement benefits.  All retired school personnel are urged to join.


Officers for 2016-18 are (from left) Becky Williams, Treasurer; Carol Strickland, 1st Vice President; Betty Thornton, President; Patricia Fulghum, 2nd Vice President; Kay Past, Parliament; and Linda McKay, Secretary. 


Scholarship Awarded​
     BCRSP awarded our first scholarship this year. Richard Quiroz, a senior at A. C. Jones High School in Beeville, received the award during the Evening of Excellence program on May 23rd.